May is Celiac Awareness Month
In honor of Celiac Awareness Month, we’ll be posting informational articles and gluten-free recipes featuring Wisconsin potatoes — a gluten-free food!
Celiac disease is an often misunderstood disease — but here are the facts:
- Celiac disease (CD) is a genetic disorder. Those with CD cannot tolerate gluten.
- CD is not a food allergy — it is an autoimmune disease.
- When people with CD eat grains such as wheat, rye and barley, it damages the villi in specific regions of their intestines.
- Gluten is the name for certain proteins contained in grains — wheat, barley, rye and their derivatives.
- All fresh fruits, vegetables, beef, chicken, fish, lamb, pork and dairy products are naturally gluten-free. This includes potatoes!
- Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. This includes wine and distilled alcohol, but not beer. Gluten-free beer is available.
- This can result in diarrhea, weight loss, and malnutrition.
- Nearly 1 in 133 Americans have CD.
The challenge for those with CD is to find foods, vitamins, drinks, medications and supplements that are gluten-free. The Celiac Disease Foundation is a terrific resource for those with CD, providing information, recipes and lists of gluten-free products.
According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, there are certain products that may have gluten in them, that people may not be aware of. It is important to read the label before ingesting. Below is the list:
- Brown rice syrup
- Breading & coating mixes
- Energy Bars
- Flour or cereal products
- Imitation bacon
- Imitation seafood
- Panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
- Processed luncheon meats
- Sauces, gravies
- Self-basting poultry
- Soy sauce or soy sauce solids
- Soup bases
- Stuffings, dressing
- Thickeners (Roux)
- Communion wafers
- Herbal supplements
- Drugs & over-the-counter medications
- Nutritional supplements
- Vitamins & mineral supplements
Looking for gluten free recipes? Try our database of gluten-free recipes!