If You Have Celiac Disease – Read Food Product Labels

Pexels Potatoes

As the Celiac Disease Foundation notes, “the key to understanding the gluten-free diet is to become a good ingredient label reader.”

Below is a list of ingredients that people with Celiac Disease should avoid:

  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (durum, graham, Kamut®, semolina, spelt)
  • Malt, malt flavoring, malt vinegar (are generally made from barley, verify the source)

The Celiac Disease Foundation notes that you should read a product label every time you shop because manufacturers change ingredients in their products frequently. The Foundation also adds that products with a complete list of ingredients are safest for those with Celiac Disease.

Remember, fresh veggies, fruit, beef, seafood, chicken, pork, lamb and dairy products are naturally gluten-free.

The United States Potato Board provides a wide selection of gluten-free recipes, as does our Wisconsin potato recipe section.

Related News